• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • You already know Dokkio is an AI-powered assistant to organize & manage your digital files & messages. Very soon, Dokkio will support Outlook as well as One Drive. Check it out today!


Rules for Living

Page history last edited by PBworks 12 years, 8 months ago

This week you have learned about various religions’ “rules for living.” For homework, you will be creating your own rules for living.
In other words, if you wanted to be your best you, what guidelines would you have to follow?

Due Monday, November 22nd is a document that lists your rules for living. Your title should include your name, and reflect the rules. You may embellish your printed work in a way that appropriately reflects your rules, but do not go overboard. Please keep in mind that this work might be posted.


Your rules for living should include:

  • mental rules (what it is important to think, to believe, to feel),
  • ritual rules (what it is important to do regularly), and
  • behavioral rules (how you should act).

See below for some of the rules we looked at in class, for inspiration.

You will also find images of various religions’ sacred texts.

The Ten Commandments (Christianity + Judaism)

1.    Thou shalt not have strange gods before me.
2.    Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image.
3.    Thou shalt not take the name of the lord thy god in vain.
4.    Remember thou keep holy the Sabbath day.
5.    Honor thy father and thy mother.
6.    Thou shalt not kill.
7.    Thou shalt not commit adultery.
8.    Thou shalt not steal
9.    Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.
10.    Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s wife or thy neighbor’s goods.

Noble Eightfold Path (Buddhism)

•    Right understanding
•    Right intention

Ethical Conduct
•    Right speech
•    Right action
•    Right livelihood

Mental Discipline
•    Right effort
•    Right mindfulness
•    Right concentration

Five Pillars of Islam

•    Shahadah: The belief that there is no god but Allah and Muhammad is his prophet.

•    Salah: Prayer fives times a day.

•    Zakah: Alms giving.

•    Sawm: Ritual fasting.

•    Hajj: Pilgrimage to the holy city of Makkah.

Below you will find a slideshow of images of sacred texts and manuscripts. These are the same images we looked at in class on Wednesday. Please ignore the ads below the slideshow!

slide errorPlugin error: That plugin is not available.

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.